Advent Calendar, part 8

So yesterday, I posted the 7th installment of ‘Poinsettia’ as usual, but before I was able to link to it, our internet clocked out because of the awful weather we’ve been having. We lost our tv-signal as well, so (are you kidding me, just as I’m writing this, the connection died again…aaaaand it’s back!) we’ve been waiting for it to be fixed ever since.

If you missed part 7, you can find it HERE. Onwards to part 8, and remember that I love you guys when you leave feedback~ ♡

 

8

“So… this mission…?” Mizuki turned to look at the man seated on his bed as if he belonged on it. The student himself was seated on the floor, his back turned on the other man. He wasn’t sure how much time had passed since he had come home, and still felt every bit as confused as earlier.
“What about it?” asked the unexpected guest, now dressed in a pair of grey sweatpants Mizuki had dug out from the back of his closet, and a college sweater with the university’s name on it in writing that was already faded despite having been washed only once.
It suited the other man surprisingly well.
“What does it mean..?”

It really was odd that they found themselves like this, only a rough hour or so after he had come in and found this stranger in his house, and now here they were… Mizuki wasn’t entirely sure how it had come to this. Somehow, he had just resigned. They’d been sitting in silence for the longest time since he had found the garments and pushed them into the other man’s arms, urging him to get dressed.
Evidently, he wasn’t a threat, but Mizuki still didn’t understand why he was here, or what he wanted. Believing in the story he had been presented with was beyond crazy.

“It means,” the other man shifted on the bed, “That I’m here for you.”
“Here for me? I don’t even know you.” Mizuki fired back, furrowing his brow. “And what makes you think I need anyone to…be there for me?”
The other man shrugged. “I don’t know yet. But I know you.”
“Sure you do.” Mizuki replied, rejection in his voice. “We only met today.”
“We met several days ago,” came the reply, still just as soft as earlier. “You’ve been very kind to me.”
“You’re crazy.” Mizuki shook his head. “Where did you say you lived?”
“This is my home,” the man replied.
“I don’t…” the student sighed in exasperation. He didn’t understand why he was being so patient, but resigned yet again. “I don’t know why you’ve sought me out, or how you got in here with the door locked. But I guess you can stay for the night… It’s cold out there.”
He heard himself talking, but wasn’t sure he was the one who had made the words come out. Where would this guy even sleep? And why would he be inviting some stranger to spend the night after he had broken into his home?
“Thank you.”
Mizuki was rewarded with a winning smile; the stranger’s pale lips curving upwards and breaking apart to reveal perfectly aligned, pearly whites.
He turned away. “Are you hungry? I’m only going to make some instant food but…”
“Just water is fine.” The man replied.
“Just water? Are you sure you don’t want anything to eat?”
The other guy shrugged. “I’m fine with just water. You’ve been very good at keeping me from thirsting to death you know.”
“Huh?”
“Every day you made sure to water-“
“Enough. Don’t start this again. If you’re not hungry, just say so.” Mizuki bit him off, a bit annoyed.
“I’m not hungry.”
“See, that wasn’t so hard now was it?”
The man with the vibrant red hair just smiled at him. “You’re not a bad guy, Mizuki.”
Mizuki turned away, cheeks ablaze for no apparent reason. “I’ll just make dinner then…” he mumbled.
He reached for a pot atop a shelf, and just as he took it down, something struck him:
“By the way…What’s your name?”
Perhaps it was odd to ask this question, but he had already invited his home intruder to spend the night. Things couldn’t get much stranger than that.
“Why don’t you name me?”

Alright, so evidently they could.

**TBC**

What's on your mind?

